KREV Annexes Antarctica

The Minister of Nostalgia and the Minister of Inconsolability & Piercings have annexed Antarctica.

The Antarctic Treaty: Signed in Washington 1st December 1959 by 12 countries. Treaty entered into force on 23rd June 1961. Now 46 countries have joined the Treaty.

“No acts or activities taking place while the present Treaty is in force shall constitute a basis for asserting, supporting or denying a claim to territorial sovereignty in Antarctica or create any rights of sovereignty in Antarctica. No new claim, or enlargement of an existing claim, to territorial sovereignty in Antarctica shall be asserted while the present Treaty is in force.”


EV flag flown on Minerva in Drake passage (discovered September 1578) on 9th February 2009.


EV flag placed on Half Moon Island, South Shetlands, Antarctica for 15 seconds on 12th February 2009. Flag removed in accordance with the 1991 Protocol on Environmental Protection to the Antarctic Treaty, set out in recommendation XVIII-I adopted at the Antarctic Treaty Meeting, Kyoto, 1994 and ratified in January 1998.